Skip navigation


4 Posts authored by: Stuartsjones element14 Team

Boris Vote.jpg


After weeks of hacking and a couple of 'blown up' BeagleBones later, we're are pleased to announce the result of the Hackspace Challenge as voted for by the element14 community. So i'm sure you will join in offering your congratulations to Chicago's Pumping Station One, who acquired 64% of the public vote for their Pick and Place project. The element14 team will be presenting their winning prize of $1000 USD soon. Great job guys!


Also we would like to say well done to our friends over at Leeds Hackspace in the UK and their table football build came a close second with 36% of your votes. The runner up prize of $500 USD (equivalent in £) will also be presented to you guys shortly.


A final word of congratulations goes to community member Crashing Dutchman, who was drawn at random from all the eligible comments on the vote. You have won yourself a BeagleBone BlackBeagleBone Black single board computer and we will be in touch shortly to arrange delivery.

Hackspace battle with e14 logo.png

2 Hackspaces... 2 BeagleBone Blacks... 1 Winner!


We're pleased to announce a month long challenge that will pit two transatlantic hackspaces against each other to create a fantastic project using the awesome BeagleBone Black! Each hackspace has been given a BeagleBone Black and challenged to come up with the most awesome project and then submit their results on element14. We've picked the two closest hackspaces to our UK and US offices to compete and here's a little bit more about them...


Pumping Station One is a hackerspace located in Chicago. Its mission is to foster a collaborative environment wherein people can explore and create intersections between technology, science, art, and culture. They fulfil their role as a community resource by hosting classes on electronics, programming, crafts, and any other skills that members (or guests) are willing to share.


Based in the North of England, Leeds Hackspace has been running for three years and is a group aiming to provide Leeds with a permanent not-for-profit hackspace. Their members come from a range of backgrounds, have differing levels of experience and are interested in everything from woodworking to programming to robots with lasers. The hackspace gives provides a shared workshop to develop skills, collaborate on projects and be more active in the community.


Once they have created their projects and submitted them, we will ask you, the element14 community, to vote for your favourite. The winning hackspace will then receive a prize of $1,000 donation to their group (the runner up will also receive a $500 donation).


Our hackspaces have already begun to post updates on their projects. Check them out! You can buy your own Beaglebone Black here. Who will you be rooting for? In the words of Connor MacLeod... "There can be, only one!"



Thank you to everyone who entered our fun Beaglebone photo hunt competion which was running across Facebook, Twitter and Google+ pages last week.


We can now confirm that boris was hiding on the the following blogs:


In the Raspberry Pi group:

The energy harvesting Roadtest area:

Finally in the members area:


So we're very pleased to to announce the winners who were drawn at random from all who entered. Nate Chapman (USA), Julian Bourne (Spain) and Marc Nozell (USA); you guys will all be receiving a brand new Beaglebone Black from us shortly, so many congratulations!


Thanks once again to everyone who took part in the competition and remember if you didn't win this time, you can still order the amazing Beaglebone Black from element14 now.



It's been a heck of a week for Beaglebone, after launching at Design West, so we are grateful to Jason Kridner from for taking the time to speak to our community members and element14 people on a Google hangout today. Jason explained in depth about what the possibilities of the Beaglebone Black are and took some really interesting questions from community members David Scheltema and Sheldon Bailey, with element14 team members Drew Fustini, Cliff Ortmeyer and Joe Alderson.