1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 2:56 PM by nickgray

building a ADC for running old game consoles through hdmi (upscaling)

profanity

hi everyone. this is my first post here and i have been trying to figure out something for a long time now. i dont even know if i post this on the right place:P

first things first. im norwegian and we dont have communities like this here. its even impossible to get parts here to build devices on your own. i only know of one place to buy parts from in norway but it cost over 10$ for shipping no matter what you buy. and there is only 1 workshop in this city that fixes electronics even. its a dying profession here.

im a builder by profession and im a heavy tinkerer. i like fixing stuff rather than buying something new and about half a year ago, i started up electronics as a hobby. note that im at the absolute beginning steps, though im confident with soldering/welding

but anyway, back to my questions:

i recently saw a video on youtube about a guy showing his retro gaming system collection and he said once in one of his videoes about that he was running them all through hdmi but built a computer inside his NES cause it was so hard to get working with hdmi so the computer was running windows + an emulator.

i then started researching how one could do such a thing and came over the Analog to Digital Conversion. i dont understand how it works and how i can use it. i want to build an ADC inside all my consoles so all of them will run on my hdtv with upscaled pictures. i know i cant increase the resolution on the console (like the SNES runs in 512×478 at max) but i wanted the image to look native, like how it looked on the old tv's.

is there anyway to do this? and could someone give me some diagrams with part numbers or something?