8 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2018 6:18 PM by davidrediger

Wireless Controlled Submarine

carl1126

I am a young hobbyist in electronics and have an idea in mind to build a small submarine which I can control using a computer or iPad. I was wondering what to use to communicate with the submarine, and whether to use an Arduino, Rasberry Pi or a Beaglebone Black ?...I am still not very fluent in all the tech dialogue so if you can try too keep the answers a bit simple..Thanks

• Re: Wireless Controlled Submarine
          element14jamie

Hello carl1126,

Welcome to the element14 Community, we hope you are enjoying it! I will move this over to our Single-Board Computers area as it is a better fit to your question.

Thank you,

Jamie

dougw

Hi Carl,

It sounds like a very interesting project.

Arduino is lower cost and simpler to implement that the other 2 platforms, and it should fine for your application.

There are 3 technologies that come to mind for short range underwater communications:

1. acoustics or ultrasonics (sonar)
            2. radio
            3. light

Commercial versions of these systems seem to be pretty expensive, but you may be able to make your own at low cost.

If you keep the commands simple, (say 6 commands - go, stop, left, right, up, down) you could just flash a, underwater LED light at 6 different frequencies to indicate the 6 commands. This would not even require a microcontroller, just some simple digital circuitry. A variation of this is to flash the light at a fixed frequency so ambient light, which does not flash at this frequency, can be ignored. The flashing light would stay on for different lengths of time depending on which command you want to send. Blue light travels further underwater than other colours.

If you also have a light on your sub, it might be easier to see where it is - you could have another command to toggle this on and off to save power.