8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2014 5:20 PM by jmarrina

Oscilloscopes: Past, Present and Future

jmarrina

Hello Folks,

I'm John Marrinan, and I'll be your visiting expert this week on all things oscilloscopes. I work as a field application engineer for Tektronix in the UK. My core job is to support our customers for complex time domain applications such as high speed serial analysis, embedded system debugging, optical telecommunications and high energy physics. I'd like to start though by giving a brief history of scopes, the role the play in society and what I think the future holds for oscilloscopes.

The traditional scope as we know it was based on Cathode Ray Tubes (CRTs) invented in the late 19th century by Karl Braun.  These replaced order oscillographs and galvanometers giving clearer and more efficient views of voltage over time. CRT based scopes used electrically charge, beam forming plates  to excite a phosphors coated screen with in incoming oscillating signal. By sweeping one of these sets of plates we could steer the beam across the screen, drawing the waveform. In the early 1920s they became much more common in research labs. After World War II Howard Vollum and Jack Murdock, the founders of Tektronix, invented a "triggered" giving the ability to steadily display repeating signals.

The next major advancement in scopes was the introduction of the digital storage scope in the mid-80s by Walter LeCroy. Digital scopes allowed for higher bandwidths, complex triggering, single shots and post-processing. Digital scopes are fundamentally based on A/D converters and Nyquist theorem. This technology is still the backbone of scopes today and will be into the future.