13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 24, 2017 8:23 AM by kennyl

An NES Zapper for modern LCD TVs?

android927

This is a post i made previously on another thread, but i'm now posting it as its own discussion to hopefully get some response from Ben or anyone else who can figure out how to do this build.

Dear Ben (or anyone else with the technical skill to solve this problem),

For a while now I've been looking for a way to modify an NES Zapper to work on modern televisions. After a lot of research, i think i have figured out exactly why it doesn't work. Unfortunately, however, i am just a computer science student with only very basic experience in working with electronics, so i do not know how to even begin implementing a solution. I was hoping you would be able to help.

As you probably know, the Zapper works by having the entire screen go black save for the targets, at which point a photo diode senses whether or not it is pointing into the light. However, this is actually accomplished by a multistage process which i will outline below:

1) The NES redraws the screen completely black for one frame. The Zapper checks to make sure no light is detected before proceeding, preventing any accidental readings from other light sources (this is why pointing it at a light bulb doesn't work).

2) The NES redraws the screen with only target #1 illuminated for one frame. The Zapper checks for light, and the Nintendo determines if the player has hit target #1.

3) The NES redraws the screen with only target #2 illuminated for one frame. The Zapper checks for light, and the Nintendo determines if the player has hit target #2.

4) This process repeats for all targets on screen.