6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2014 6:50 AM by dougw

Novice in trouble

billyoung

Hi all. I'm a retired mechanic and have VERY little knowledge in the magic that is electronics. So I'm throwing myself on to you good people who can maybe help me out.

I hate throwing stuff away that could easily be repaired with a little bit of effort. I was given a golf trolley last year that didn't work. It has a module with a circuit board inside that looks like it has got wet at some time. I've tested the transistors (only 3) and found 1 of them has blown. The numbers on it are HO1 and YM3045N. I've tried to find one on the net but failed. Is there a way of finding an equivalent. From my limited knowledge it looks like it controls the voltage to the motor. Secondly would water getting into it be enough to blow it or should I look for a popped diode or something as well?..... Thanks in advance ... Bill

• Re: Novice in trouble
          hamptonjmoore

Hello sir, Newark Element 14 should have the transistor you are looking for but if not you could purchase another NPN transistor with high tolerance so you could be certain that it could handle the power you are applying to it. 

billyoung
              Thank you Hampton for your reply. You and Shabaz have added to my confusion. Shabaz has said it is a Dual Rectifier and you a NPN transistor (Which is what I thought it was)... This thing works from a 12V battery so it doesn't have a great deal of power. The replacement I am after would need to be the same shape a the old one and handle the same power. There is another transistor adjacent to this one which I have the feeling works in conjunction with the blown one. Would I need to change both to a higher rating?...Thank you again ....Bill
              shabaz