14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2020 5:37 PM by Jan Cumps

I2C Slave?

benett

Hi

I need to communicate with a I2C master with a BeagleBone black rev3 (Debian) as a slave.

I have search over the internet but not find anything. I'm new with BeagleBone.

I find a lot of example for master but not for the slave.

Can somebody please help me?

Regards Stefan

• Re: I2C Slave?
          clem57

@benett

May I ask what would the master be? Will there be any other I2C in the design on the same interface? How will the BBB respond to the clock from the master? One way could be to have a forever running service. Another would be to sense interrupt and respond(a bit more difficult). How much coding do you want to do or are you looking for already done code? A hardware hookup picture can help me to suggest some coding...

Clem

benett

Hi

There will only be one master and one slave. I have no control over the master, it sends a "ping" and listen to a answer from the slave with right address.

After that normal I2C operation.

I found this code for the Arduino and that is what I need for BeagleBone, a library. http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/MasterWriter

If someone know what I can find it, I will be happy.

// Wire Slave Receiver
              // by Nicholas Zambetti <http://www.zambetti.com>

// Demonstrates use of the Wire library
              // Receives data as an I2C/TWI slave device
              // Refer to the "Wire Master Writer" example for use with this

// Created 29 March 2006

// This example code is in the public domain.

#include <Wire.h>

void setup()
              {
                Wire.begin(4); // join i2c bus with address #4
                Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent); // register event
                Serial.begin(9600); // start serial for output
              }

void loop()
              {
                delay(100);
              }

// function that executes whenever data is received from master