9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2015 3:12 AM by michaelkellett

Peltier Cooling Module Data sheet understanding

banshee

I am working on a project which envolves the implementation of Peltier modules. I am a mechanical engineering student. Currently, I am dealing with a Peltier cooling Module whose data sheet is shown below in the link from Farnell UK. We have Peltier cooling modules in the project which are supposed to cool down some flowing air. This is the first time I encounter Peltier modules.

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/1693164.pdf

1-

I would like to ask about any good books available on the Thermo-electric effect, and more particularly Peltier modules, the physics behind them, mathematical models of them and their implementation.

2-

Also I would like to ask about the performance graph of the Peltier module (see the link below). According to what I understood from the explanation available on the Internet, the Pc notation on the graph refers to the cooling power. Is it the rate at which heat energy is absorbed on the cold side ??

3-

There is a heat little heat exchanger which consists of a heat sink, which holes filled in it and pipes are connected to flow water through the heat sink to increase the convective heat loss and prevent any overheat. While Tc the temperature on the cold side, can Th be considered as the ambient temperature ?

http://oi57.tinypic.com/34hj2m8.jpg

4-

On the performance graph, the "Th" at which the data in the graphs were collected is noted to be 25 C. Does this mean that I can refer to the graphs only in case that that the temperature on the hot side at that temperature ??

This because I found some sources on the Internet claiming at an offset of ±10 C, with a slight margin of error.

5-