5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2016 4:28 AM by lucie tozer

Raspberry Pi Power Status LED Indicator

b8a

Hey guys, I have recently gotten my new Pi 3.

I am loving it and am thinking of making myself a custom case for it.

However I have searched and searched and cannot for the life of me find out how I can wire up 2 LEDs in order to show the power status.

In other words, I want to find out how I can create a circuit that will have a red LED on when the Pi is off and a Blue LED on when the pi is on.

Thanks in advance.

PS: I am still quite new to the electrical  spectrum.

• Re: Raspberry Pi Power Status LED Indicator
          royleith

It depends what you mean by 'on' and 'off'. The Raspi does not have the traditional circuitry of a desktop computer that powers down the power supply when the operating system closes down. That is what a desktop uses to turn the power light on and off.

The GPIO 5V pin is at 5V as long as the external PSU is delivering power. If your case had a power switch, it would be easy to arrange a simple circuit powered from the PSU side of the switch that lit a blue light when there was 5V at the Raspi and a red light when there was not, but that does not indicate when it is safe to turn the power off because it does not show if Rasbian is running or not.

The only useful indication is the red LED on the Raspi that shows when the PSU is supplying power and the green LED that flashes four times and then goes off when Rasbian closes down. I don't know if that works for other Raspi OSs.

I don't know of any way that those LED indications can be extended to external circuitry. If that were possible, then a logic circuit could be devised to convert Green 'On' and Red 'On to the lighting of a blue LED and Green 'Off' and Red 'On' to a Red LED 'On' (an AND logic gate - Output '0' lights red and '1' lights blue).