3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2017 12:18 AM by dougw

Repulsive Electromagnetic Levitation by 4 coils

bfulmind

Hi everybody

I'm a Mechanical engineering student but interested in Electronics so I am somehow beginner.

I'm working on magnetic levitation, both attractive(from top) and repulsive(from bottom). levitating from top was successful since there are so many articles and videos available but there isn't any article or guide about repulsive levitation!! I need to understand the fundamental of this type of levitation.

It would be greatly appreciated if you share any article, Arduino code and schematic.

Thanks so much

d.JPG

• Re: Repulsive Electromagnetic Levitation by 4 coils
          testhallo123

The System contains two main parts:

1. a big ring magnet (underneath or around the four coils, you cannot see it on your picture) and a small strong disk-like magnet. the big one is made out of ferrite, just search for ferrite ring magnet. the smaller magnet is a neodym magnet. Only with these components the system is unstable, and if you try to put the neodym magnet in the center of the ring magnet it will always gets attracted in one direction. this is cause of earnshaws theorem.

so therefore you'll need a second part to get the neodym magnet floating:

2. an adjustable magnetic field controlled by a microcontroler. it contains four coils made out of cupper wire, two hall-effect sensors and some sort of controller which will interpret the datas from the hall sensor and will drive the coils.