12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2017 10:02 AM by setcamerav2

RPI wired network

setcamerav2

HI,

I would like to create a wired network of several (6) RPi with cameraboard v2. I would like to use one (more) RPI to send all the other RPIs the same signal (i.e. to shoot a still picture at the same time).

I am a complete newbie in RPi and networks.

Anyone could give any instructions to do that and or any hints on where to find?

Thank you.

Giuseppe

• Re: RPI wired network
          balearicdynamics

Hi Giuseppe,

first of all, frankly I suggest you to document a while on what the Raspberry PI can do, just to figure ut a scenario and focus better your idea. By a general point of view, also considering that you are not super skilled, probably the easiest way to do this with 6 PI is proceeding by steps. I can suggest a possible draft of the project building:

BTW, If you can draw us your project more in detail sure we can be more helpful.

1. Completely setup a stand-alone working PI with the camera. This will help you to manage one problems at a time and experiencing a while better with the board focusing the attention on your needs. When you have a PI with a camera that works as you need (shooting, image saving etc.)
          2. Look on how to write simple Python code (or just bash commands) to control the camera features you want, in particular a command for shooting the camera.
          3. Setup a network of Raspberry PI. The first next question is: do you need the Internet on the LAN ? I suppose yes. To reach this you have two choices: at least one of the PI should be a version 3 including the WiFi or add to at least one WiPi (WiFi USB dongle) or similar for one PI.
          4. Setup the PI with the double network as a bridge, so it can share the WiFi Internet connection via the wired connection with the other PIs