15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2017 1:08 AM by shabaz

Issues with 7" LCD

greggo298@gmail.com

Hi, I'm trying to set up one of your LCD monitors on my pi 3. Have checked and re-checked the connectors and they are correct. Have updated and upgraded the os. And have added ignore_lcd=0 to /boot/config.txt. I am starting the pi with no HDMI screen connected - just the LCD via its connectors. Admittedly I'm a noob but I've done everything my multiple searches have uncovered and still there is no life in the screen. Nothing. Am beginning to think it's the screen and not me.

Can you please help?

• Re: Issues with 7" LCD
          shabaz

Hi Greg,

If you're using the display model that I think you're suggesting, then it is worth reading all the comments in this blog post: Raspberry Pi 7” Touchscreen Display , because there are currently 337 comments there, mostly Q&A, and since you know precisely how you installed and configured it, it will be easier for you to scan through those comments. Since there are hundreds of comments there, the chances of identifying your issue (or determining for sure if it is faulty) from those comments is pretty high I think.

If you wish to examine in close detail the install steps and photos of each step, then there are some instructions and photos here: Raspberry Pi 7” Capacitive Touch Display: Assembly and Enclosure

It is not the official documentation and therefore you may spot something in there since it can help reading things a different way sometimes.

greggo298@gmail.com

So I tried dmesg | grep -i FT5 and got nothing

I do get a couple of errors in dmesg:

w1_add_master_device: set_pullup requires write_byte or

touch_bit, disabling

brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_drivestrengthinit: No SDIO Drive

strength init done for chip 43430 rev 1 pmurev 24

brcmfmac: brcmf_c_preinit_dcmds: Firmware version = wl0: Aug

7 2017 00:46:29 version 7.45.41.46 (r666254 CY) FWID 01-f8a78378

brcmfmac: brcmf_cfg80211_reg_notifier: not a ISO3166 code