9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2017 3:50 AM by mcb1

Need help limited vision problem

marcus57
      I am currently a resident in a nursing home and have difficulty with what they have as a call light. When you press the button by your bed a small LED light comes on above the bed. The problem is I am visually impaired and cannot see if the small led Is on. After waiting a while I'm always having to press the button not knowing whether the light is on or not.
      I would like to find some kind of light sensor that I could place over the small LED and have it BUZZ or give some kind of audible sound so I know the button has been pressed,
      I do have my desktop computer a few feet away and thought about having some kind of USB device that could have my computer produces sound,
      I am enclosing a picture of the wall plate where the LED is located.
      I have had dreams of since it was hooked to my computer I would be able to keep a log of how long the light was on each time it's on
      Thank you in advance for any help

I am basically looking for something as simple as a Light detector to sense When that small  LED is activated I need a buzzer to let me know that my call light is on
      Call light panel

Photo

6 plus ones

21 comments

• Re: Need help limited vision problem
          jw0752

Hi Mark,

I built something similar for my mom who was in a nursing home. When she was in bed she could not see whether the light had been activated or not. I built a sensor that sat on top of the little green light on the panel and when ever it was lit a circuit would turn on a flashing red and blue LED. Mom could see the flashing of the LED on her ceiling. The nursing home would not let me tap into the circuit so I made the unit totally isolated from the system. Here is a link to the project.

https://www.element14.com/community/people/jw0752/blog/2016/01/15/building-an-led-amplifier-for-mom?sr=search&searchId=c33c3adb-c11b-46ff-99c9-b2cd22c6188f&searchIndex=0