15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2018 8:33 AM by phased

Designing an Edge Card PCB

phased

Hello, I am very new to Eagle. Can someone tell me if there is a step-by-step guide on creating a schematic / design for an edge card (w/ gold fingers) to be used with an IDC connector? Thanks very much in advance!

• Re: Designing an Edge Card PCB
          shabaz

Hi Troy,

It can be created the same way any component is created in EAGLE, by creating the package, symbol and combining it into a device.

rachaelp has a very useful series of blog posts which explains the procedure, see here: EAGLE Tutorial: Library Part Creation Part 1 - Creating Packages 

For your edge connector, I think I would ensure the origin is at the edge, not the centre, so that when it is placed on the board view, it is easy to align it with your board edge.

If you're looking for an example, see here, the files are downloadable: https://hackaday.io/project/7014-mini-pcie-pic18lf2550-devboard

Ordinarily there is a bevelled edge, and plating, on such edge connectors, you'd need to let the PCB manufacturer know (or sand-paper it manually if this is a prototype PCB).

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              phased

Hello shabaz,

Thanks for the reply and including the links... I appreciate the help!

Regards,

Troy.

phased

Hello shabaz,