23 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2017 11:12 AM by cdog580

My first electronics project, and it's a BIG one

cdog580

hello everyone this is my first post and i am very new at electronics. i am a lighting designer that designs and programs lights for concerts and other events. my preferred console that i use is a grand MA2 software and i have a on pc command wing. I have always found electronics fascinating and now that i have the following issue i have decided now is a perfect time to start! here is the project:

i am attempting to make a replica of this fader wing extension which retail cost over $3,500 easy. for my project i need to meet the following:

15 x 60mm linear slide potentiometers

60 x cherry MX white switches

USB type B connection to control the hardware via midi control.

the things i would like to do are this:

1) prototype and ensure that the entire system is working

2) program a stand alone pcb mounted microcontroller to control the hardware and software interactions preferably without using a arduino or similar thought this may be selfish?

3) have a proper PCB and Metal housing cut so that i am able to use it on actual jobs.

my big question is this:

what do you all recommend for me as a starting point. i can do the research on the potentiometers and the buttons thought those seem easy enough. have the microcontroller listening for the voltage of the potentiometers and for the buttons to send it 5 volts but i know there is no microcontroller that will have the whole 75 inputs i will need. do i use multiple microcontrollers? how do i hook them together? is there something i am missing in this project? thank you all for any input!

*       UPDATE        *

so i have discovered that there is a arduino Mega which has 50 odd connections not the full 75 i need but if there's a way to link the two and then have one USB out to the computer this may solve my issue of lack of i/o ports and dramatically reduce the complexity of this project.