7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2018 3:49 PM by three-phase

Torque Screwdrivers - What do you use?

tbartonnewark

Hi

I work at Newark and I'm reviewing Torque Screwdrivers.  Do you use them?  If so what increment range is common and are you using metric or imperial.

My background is in rough electrical work, but I'm interested in how the torque screwdrivers are used by engineers or if they are used in PCB assembly.

Thanks

TB

• Re: Torque Screwdrivers - What do you use?
          abrain

Hi Tom, I’ve recently been using one of these WeraWera torque screwdrivers, which goes up to 3Nm and was ideal for the M3 screws used to hold some enclosures together.

Personally it’s rare I use them, as usually I subcontract final assembly, this was a case of needing to do some field upgrades and ensure the units weren’t going to shake apart afterwards!

This 3Nm range seemed ideal for screws up to M3, for fitting these enclosure onto other equipment or mountings I’d probably look to a torque wrench instead for the M4 or M5 fasteners that usually get used in the industries I deal with.

You can see I’m pretty much metric, for the fasteners, but appreciate the options a 1/4” drive brings!

Hope that helps!

A

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            gsgill112

I usually use Philips ( + ) Screws just as they are cheep and easy to use and readily available, plus they can be bought in various materials.

Torque are usually expensive to use just because they are not meant for common repairs. you would often find them in consumer products which would have company repairs certification .

Hope this helps.

Regards

GS Gill

doug65

Where I work we do a variety of torque control applications: