12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2018 2:59 PM by DAB

Pleaseee A.S.A.P

silentknight14th

I am making a study on robotics that uses a radar.

but I don't know;

what type of sensor is used in making radars?
      like radar on a ship.

Can a radar like that map a certain area? or it needs an overlaying of an electronic chart or map?

thank you, please helpppppppp meeeeeeeeeee...

• Re: Pleaseee A.S.A.P
          jw0752

Hi Raymond,

You may want to Google LIDAR which is similar to RADAR but uses pulsed laser to detect objects and surroundings. Ultrasound and PIR are also useful sensors for robots. Radar can be used but since it is more sensitive to metal and reflective object I am not sure how applicable it would be to a general purpose robot. I am not an expert so perhaps some of the other guys on the forum will also render their opinions.

John

6 of 6 people found this helpful
            DAB

Typically radar refers to radio frequencies.

In Robotics you will find ultrasonic sensors for short distance (0-2 meters) measurements and Lidar for longer distance (.02 - 100 meters) measurements.

There are some experiments going on with millimeter wave sensors, but those are not usually associated with robots yet.

So using the term radar with robots seems odd as there is limited utility.

Now if you are talking about aerial vehicles, they you will find radar included as a part of the avionics package, but you are not talking about inexpensive robots in this case.

So I suggest you supply us with additional information to narrow the context of what you want to know.

DAB

7 of 7 people found this helpful
                silentknight14th

Thank you.

I was confused too, our school named it robotics but I find it hard to conclude that it is robotics rather than it is a mechanical and electronics thing.

I am thinking of a design of a device that can be used in forestry regions.

and can monitor such things.

so I decided to use a radar, but I don't know what kind.