16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2018 2:55 PM by oghma

What are the basics?

oghma

I feel like I've started reading a mystery novel from about half way through, and its should come as no surprise that I'm having trouble getting anything done.

I'm not a complete novice when it comes to computers. I've built my own PCs, file servers (PC-DOS, MS-DOS, Windows, NT, Novel) I even used a PR1ME at Uni to run FORTRAN programs. But this Pi has me thinking I know nothing. It's taken me over a week to do the following:

- Stop my mouse from crawling across the screen

- Get rid of the big black border around the edge of my monitor

- Install an mSATA rive in the Pi Desktop and partition it into three using gparted. (Still not sure I've done this right)

- Ran update and upgrade on the OS

- Stopped menu choices in Chrome from showing white on white when I hover over them

- Installed Gimp 2.8

However, all of the above was achieved by following a recipe like advice from a guru. I feel I've learned very little on my journey.

What I've failed to do is:

- Install Firefox (erm - Iceweasel) and set this as my default browser

- Clone my mSD card onto my mSATA partition 1 so I can boot from it. (Why? : More room. mSATAs are more reliable, and yes - slower, USB2.0!. I can keep the mSD safe, should I need a recovery point.)

- Refer to my mSATA partitions with something a little more easy to remember than an 8-digit hex code.

I am working towards making this Pi into a simple file server with spool services over an IP intranet. I feel like I'm still so far away from my goal.

Sorry for the rant. I think what I'm after is something that I can build on, not just another recipe. Thanks for reading this far.

• Re: What are the basics?
          colporteur