5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2018 4:07 AM by shabaz

Optek OPB732WZ  and the Raspberry Pi ?

amasters

I am hoping that I can use the  OPB732WZOPB732WZ Reflective Photo Interrupter https://uk.farnell.com/optek-technology/opb732wz/opto-switch-reflective/dp/1678639 with a Raspberry Pi which has both 5v and 3.3v supplies on the GPIO.

I have no great experience with electronics, but attaching optical sensors to a Raspberry Pi appears to be a simple matter according to articles I have read using similar devices.

Any advice on how to connect this device to the Raspberry Pi would be gratefully received.

Many thanks.

• Re: Optek OPB732WZ  and the Raspberry Pi ?
          shabaz

Hi Alan,

You can use the circuit in the datasheet, there are four there, and the first one could be tried, although the third one can be better (and more energy efficient since it can be switched off). The third one needs a transistor, something like BC547 or any other generic NPN transistor is fine.

But, the datasheet circuit is powering everything from one rail called VCC. Better in your case to split it, the receiver portion should be connected to the 3.3V supply (because the GPIO operate at that voltage), and the transmit portion can be connected to the 5V supply (because it will consume more current, and there is some limit on the 3.3V rail). The calculations for the resistors are in the datasheet, e.g. RD = (5V-1.8V)/20mA = 0.16k = 160 ohms, use the next highest easily available value, which is 180 ohms.

For RL, something like 4.7kohm is fine or that ballpark, it is not very critical.

If you use circuit#3, then the base of the transistor needs a resistor in series with the connection to the GPIO pin that drives it, although it is not shown. That can be a 1k resistor.

I hope that helps, but if you need more help let me know.

4 of 4 people found this helpful
              amasters

Thanks Shabaz for taking so much trouble to reply.