7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2018 10:45 AM by fmilburn

Automatic weighing machine

khajavali1971

Hi friends

For my high school project.

I want to build a automatic weighing machine which shows the avarage of every 20 weights it weighed and calculate the standard diviation of each weight with avarage weight.

I want It should show the data on a display .

I am working with microprocessor and load cell with calibration system and a step-down circuit to have 5 voltage.

Can you help me

I am a beginner.

Is it possible to feed such program in microprocessor/controller ?

to choose which microprocessor would be good to burn the avarage calculation program in to it?.

Should I use Ardino to do the job ?

• Re: Automatic weighing machine
          fmilburn

This is an ideal task for microcontrollers and there are many that could do it including the Arduino.  An Arduino has some advantages for a beginner in that there are lots of code examples on the internet and in your case it will work with 5V easily.  There are shields made especially for the Arduino to use with load cells, e.g. https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/load-cell-amplifier-hx711-breakout-hookup-guide?_ga=2.71342740.681789251.1539186257…

Good luck with your project.... Frank

7 of 7 people found this helpful
            dougw

As Frank points out, your project could be performed entirely with an arduino. Here is another tutorial:

https://www.robotshop.com/community/blog/show/interfacing-a-load-cell-with-an-arduino-board

Another approach would be to use the arduino to read a load cell as these tutorials show and then send the readings to a PC to do the averaging and standard deviation calculations in Excel. It depends whether you find it easier to program an Excel macro to read in data and do the math or to program the arduino to do the math and display the results.