4 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2021 3:34 AM by clotholecesisatropos

changing board size in circuit studio

alanng928

Hi, I'm new in Circuit studio, so i cant find a way to change default board size, i mean i have started my pcb, i need a 200 x 200 mm pcb board size, but Circuit studio by default have a board 100 x 100 mm size, i have tried to set my pcb size when i start my pcb, but board size still 100 x 100 mm, so i have made my design in default size but i need change sizes, Thanks.

• Re: changing board size in circuit studio

A very simple way to achieve this...

• Change to the Outline layer (or any other spare mechanical layer of your choice)
          • Draw (using the Line tool) a rectangle of 200 x 200mm using thin lines
          • Select the rectangle
          • Use Home | Board Shape > Define From Selected Objects
            adamwebber

Being new to CS, I assume you need more instructions than in the above reply.  The easiest way to make a square board:

1-Click on the Home Tab.

2-Set your snap grid to a divisible number to what you are trying to create.  You are trying to create a board that is 200mm^2.  Set your snap grid to 10mm, 20mm, 50mm or 100mm, etc. 

3-Click on the Board Shape button.

4-Select 'Redefine Board Shape'.

5-Now click anywhere in your design space.  This is one corner of your board.  Move your mouse 200mm up and click.  Move it 200mm right and click.  Move it 200mm down and click.  Move to the original location and click.  Press Escape and there's your board.

You can see why snap grid helps.

It also helps to move your PCB away from the edges of your workspace.  Keep a good margin from the edges.

6-Now set your board origin to the bottom-left corner of your PCB.  Click on the Origin button.

7-Select 'Set'.

8-Click on the bottom-left corner of your PCB.

Sometimes it's to your advantage to place your origin in other places such as a mounting hole or the center of the PCB.  You can redefine the origin at any time.