5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2018 4:53 PM by abrain

QUESTION

richipearl

please, is arduino a good start point for me and after arduino what's next, I need your advise I'm studying entrepreneurship study in school and I'm in my industrial training period due to my love for embedded system I choose to learn arduino.

• Re: QUESTION
          Fred27

Although I'm personally not a fan of the whole Arduino thing, you will find it's an easy way to get started with embedded development and there's lots of information out there. For the same reason, the next step is often the Raspberry Pi for "bigger" projects.

However, if you want to get a bit deeper into embedded rather than stretch upwards to bigger projects, I can recommend Energia. This is an Arduino IDE port to work on TI's MSP430 (and other) processors. You can then shift your Arduino sketches into Code Composer Studio and take advantage of a more powerful IDE with JTAG debugging, etc.

7 of 7 people found this helpful
            BigG

I like to think of Arduino as an ecosystem, with it's IDE and all the shields and libraries etc. rather than a single product.

It has essentially become, in my opinion, the hardware version of a spreadsheet (which is software consisting of charting/visualisations, analytics, macros and data entry options).

My reasoning is that when you want to carry out some initial analysis for a project, you are most likely to start with a spreadsheet to test out your analytical model, than go out and develop custom software to achieve the same purpose. This is especially true if you are doing the analysis for the first time and you are not familiar with what you are trying to achieve. Starting off with advanced analytics software or complex databases is more often than not, like taking a sledgehammer to crack a nut and you can quickly get delayed or hit problems due to lack of familiarity or community support.