6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2018 9:07 AM by peteroakes

Can you Replace the Guts of a EEE PC with a Pi3B+?

mattig89ch

Hello all,

First and foremost, I'm not an engineer.  I'm a network tech by training, and a Help desk tech by profession.  So this is something way out of my normal area of knowledge.  I did take a basic engineering course in colledge, but I failed that class so hard it was almost comical.  3 weeks in, I reach a point of simply not understanding what the teacher was saying.  It was like he was speaking another language.  So I dropped the class, and transferred into the networking field.  The mandatory programming classes were so hard, I barely squeeked by them.  But the actual networking stuff was easy for me.

I have a Rasberry Pi3B+ I'm not doing anything with.  Originally, I bought it to turn it into a reto-pi, and put some N64 ROMS on it.  Sadly, I can't see to give it enough power.  Every time I enable the Wi-Fi, it reboots.  I suspect the power draw is too great, so it shuts down.  Then when the power draw isn't as high as it needs to be, it powers up.  The wifi then comes on automatically, and it repeats the process.  I have tried multiple outlets, and and wall adapters (including the official Rasberry Pi power brick!).  So far, nothings worked.

I also have an old EEE PC that runs XP-Pro.  Yep, I'm that old.  What I want to do is to gut the thing and replace the innards with this Pi3 B+.  The screen works, the keyboard/track pad work great, and the battery still holds a charge last time I checked.  its just the motherboard/hard drive I want to replace.

Is something like this even possible?  If so, where would I look to even begin a project like this?

• Re: Can you Replace the Guts of a EEE PC with a Pi3B+?
          shabaz

Hi,

There are several threads on this topic (e.g. https://www.reddit.com/r/raspberry_pi/comments/6rxm63/computerception_a_raspberry_pi_zero_inside_a_2007/   ), but it seems no-one has managed it so far.