11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2019 1:33 PM by techtest

TI MSP-EXP430

techtest

Hi,

Is there anybody here who is a bit (or more) an expert re programming the launchpad

MSP-EXP430F5529LPMSP-EXP430F5529LP ?

Thank you!

• Re: TI MSP-EXP430
          dougw

That Launchpad can be programmed just like an arduino if it helps you....

There is a little tutorial here:

https://energia.nu/pinmaps/msp-exp430f5529/

5 of 5 people found this helpful
            fmilburn

Hi techtest

I am not an expert but I have used it quite a bit.  If you are using Code Composer Studio and DriverLib I posted examples using the F5529 here.  Texas Instruments provides similar examples using direct register access and as Doug points out Energia works reasonably well on the F5529.  The Texas Instruments E2E forum is full of experts.  What is it you are trying to do or having trouble with?

4 of 5 people found this helpful
              Fred27

The F5529 Launchpad is a nice microcontroller board with USB support. I've used it for a few things and gone on to take one project from F5529-based prototype to F5510-based custom board. I had not problems with it. These are some typical things you can do with it:

Provide a custom USB serial port for communicating with your device

https://0xfred.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/animated-lego-darth-vader-build-monitor/

Create a USB HID device like a keyboard or mouse

https://0xfred.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/nfc-login-version-1-0/

https://0xfred.wordpress.com/2016/03/04/nfc-login-2-1/

I'm not an Arduino/Energia user so I'm not sure if you can make the most of the device from this environment, but CCS (now completely free) is a great IDE for diving more in depth.

I'm fairly familiar with the MSP430 and it's my go-to microcontroller. If you've got any more specific questions, feel free to ask.

5 of 5 people found this helpful
                jomoenginer

Are you stuck or are you looking for someone to teach how to use this board?