4 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2019 11:08 PM by airbornesurfer

Raspberry Pi, creepy Zoltar Like Fortune Teller help

realgeneralgrunt

Hey everyone!

I'm a puppet builder/composer/ jack of all trades working on my next project: My own original fortune teller machine.

To get it out of the way right off the bat: I'm NOT a programmer. I can figure SOME stuff out but 99% of coding I'm not good at at all.

Now onto my project:

So thus far, I have gotten the entire automation done (not shown are the LED lights)

I used a Mini Meastro 12 Servo Controller, 1 servo, and 3 LEDs (Monk RGB LEDs with built in resisters)

The head is 3d printed from a model I did in Sculptris, and the music I composed myself.

Now here are the remaining steps:

Using a coin acceptor:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/787?gclid=CjwKCAiAsoviBRAoEiwATm8OYB6kjzT62LsyP2nW9KEgcXrX4rUOxXm75hvwpg-ig9-FBbzy2ptia…

to activate the sequence.

To have the audio track play at the exact moment the sequence starts (the audio in the video is from my PC Speaker that I hit play to sync with the sequence)

After the sequence plays, a random fortune is printed using a Thermal Printer:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/597

I'm using a Raspberry Pi 3 for this, but I also have an arduino uno.

I was inspred by Matt's Mystic Seer build:

Episode 365: Twilight Zone Fortune Telling Machine

I'm hoping you all can help me finish the internals so I can start the build on the actual machine!

Like I said, I'm NOT a programmer, so all help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• Re: Raspberry Pi, creepy Zoltar Like Fortune Teller help
          shabaz

Hi Chris,

The usual way to get through projects like these is to do some programming or scripting, unless there is some similar project out there that can be copied closely.