3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2019 12:40 PM by dougw

Types of sensors to detect human emotions?

nuriag

Hi,

This might sound a little bit weird, but I'm a Masters Architecture student who is currently designing a populist city in which monuments would have some sort of sensors that would read human emotions around them, to find out whether people approved or not of these monuments.

I was told to write a technological thesis on sensors that could be placed in this monuments and read emotions, needles to say, I don't know much about sensors (yet). I imagine there are six major things that we can try to read to detect emotions:

• Facial expression
      • Respiratory rate
      • People can be detected remotely by their charge or capacitance.
      • Heart-rate
      • Galvanic skin response
      • Blood pressure

Imagining that a monument would be placed in a public outdoor area, what would be the solution you think would suit this best? I imagine I will have to use different types of sensors all at once, including cameras, etc. but I would really appreciate your (far more educated on the topic) solutions!

Thanks in advance, and I apologise if the question is too weird!

• Re: Types of sensors to detect human emotions?
          shabaz

Hi Nuria,

I don't have an answer for you, but it's not a weird question.. such determination of human state would be useful in other industries too. Perhaps your research will need to do surveys so you can compare your captured and processed data to see how accurate it is. I was wondering, maybe for the application you have in mind, maybe the emotion per individual isn't as necessary as an average. Maybe an image recognition or otherwise tracking system (e.g. signals from a mobile phone, or an app and BLE beacon inside the monument) will provide you with a sample of information from thousands of visitors, so you can see how long they linger near a monument, as another datapoint.