7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2019 5:08 PM by colporteur

New Audio Hat

maddierosen

Hi all! I'm new to Raspberry Pi and am interested in using it musically and making travel and performance much easier. Have you guys seen this audio HAT on Kickstarter? It seems nice but I am wondering what others think and ways you think I would be able to use it. Any feedback is appreciated!

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/18932239/quickstarter-kviky-easy-audio-prototyping-for-rasp?ref=project_email&fbcli…

• Re: New Audio Hat
          shabaz

Hi Madeline,

From the video, it looks like they are using a PCM5102A chip for audio, musically it will perform like any other audio card for the Pi, because they nearly all use this chip.

I've not seen the board, so I have no specific feedback related to it, but I've used that audio chip, and it's comparable to an ipod (no better or worse I think).

The physical difference between the kickstarter board and existing audio boards is that it also has input/output features. They may also have software features but I didn't explore the kickstarter page in detail.

4 of 4 people found this helpful
            Vimarsh .

I think the seeedstudiooaudio hat is better:

R

you will get advantage of support and community and projects

and if you want the all in one then it must be Matrix creator but it is expenisve:

https://www.matrix.one/products/creator

it also has FPGA and lot more

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              michaelkellett

The Hat you refer to explains its mission in the "easy-audio-prototyping" bit of its name. It's a board for easy hardware experimenting with audio on a PI.

If that is what you want to do then, subject to all the usual Kickstarter caveats, it looks good.

@Shabaz - where did you find the schematic ?

MK

shabaz

Hi Michael,

It was a screen capture from their video, but due to its low-res I couldn't tell what was on the left side, maybe a microcontroller and I/O expander.