51 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2019 12:46 PM by commanderkelly

Flashing Led's

commanderkelly

Hello, I am new to this site and loving it. I did a bit of Electronics in 1995 where I made a flashing led circuit with 2 led's and it was cool. My other hobby is model trains and I would like to put 2 small led's in buffer stops and make them flash and run it off a DC train controller. Does anyone have a simple circuit that would do the job for this? I am basically a noob at electronics but I can follow a simple circuit.

Thank you.

Gary.

• Re: Flashing Led's
          14rhb

Hi Gary,

Welcome to Element 14 Community. Although a long time ago, you have already completed the first step on the world of modern electronics - the famous 'blinky' experiment .

I'm assuming you want your LEDs to alternate. There are many ways of doing this from relays, microcontrollers, 555 timers etc but what will be easiest is probably to search for "Astable Multivibrator + transistor". One good link I have just found is this https://www.build-electronic-circuits.com/blinking-led-circuit/  (however I apologise to other E14 members as in my own comments I have stated that I don't like posting links off site). A little way down that linked-page is a circuit titled Astable Multivibrator using transistors.

If you are in the UK you can get the parts from somewhere like CPC Farnell (nice and low cost delivery), Farnell UK or in America use Newark. The transistors are nothing special, so 2N3904 would be fine; there are many other suitable ones. Again a quick Google and you will likely find a full parts list. You need to adjust the values of R1 and R4 to suit the Power Supply you are using - for 12v I would increase them to something like 750 ohms.

Keep asking if you are unsure of anything, and I'd really like to know how you get on (eg a photo of the finished buffer stop lights in action )

Rod

9 of 9 people found this helpful
              commanderkelly