7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2019 4:27 PM by beacon_dave

Soldering project for Army nerds

ctucht16

Hi everyone I am a novice to asking questions on here but I have a project in mind. This August I will be in Texas for my yearly training with the MN National Guard and with my section being electronics and all I am wondering if there is a easy way to teach my people about soldering. I am hoping to show them how fun and easy it can be by having everyone make a portable raspberry pi game console. I have a 3d printer to make the cases at home but I'd love it if there is a kit with all the components in it already. If someone has built one that I can use for inspiration then that would be cool too. I appreciate all replies.

• Re: Soldering project for Army nerds
          koudelad

Hello,

This is probably not what you want to start with (or you do?), but I can't resist linking this playlist. Avionics soldering by the books: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SnOW2VdCTI&list=PLFh-hDpACrgZ2143k8X_qPAC0eLc9pWgU (in case the link won't work in the future, search for "expert level soldering").

From my point of view, I obviously do not do all the procedures, but it is good to know, what are you skipping during your soldering, compared to this.

David

4 of 4 people found this helpful
            14rhb

A great idea. How much time have you got with them and what timescales are you looking at e.g. 2 hours a week for 3 months or a single afternoon as part of a weekend away?

Soldering generally consists of (1) components to a PCB and (2) wires to sensors/connectors. It would be good for them to experience both in anything you plan. There is also Surface Mount Technology (SMT) which you may like to just show them for now.

You could have them working in pairs or threes to limit the number of soldering irons you need to provide? Cheaper approach but less fun.