8 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2019 1:04 AM by philertman

SETI

philertman

I got my Raspberry PI 3 today. I also received my 12" LCD monitor/television and the Miuzei case from Amazon. I spent some time today and put it all together. I inserted the memory card with NOOBS software and powered

everything up. After initial load I made the choice to load the Raspian OS. (Denbian Linux). I am a member of SETI@home. I run BOINC on my computer. I know I can run BOINC on the Raspberry. I am having a difficult time

of getting any answers. As I am new to Raspberry and LINUX I need everything done in kindergarten talk. I am learning folks, every journey begins with the first step. Do any of you know how to set up BOINC in a Raspberry?

Second question is sort of strange. I would like to have multiple Raspberry PI running for analysis of signals. I have seen pictures of Raspberry PI's in clusters. But nobody is saying HOW to do it. Do you just use one Raspberry PI as a control of the stack and attach your keyboard, mouse and monitor to it? Is there any documentation so I don't have to keep bugging you folks.

• Re: SETI
          shabaz

Hi Philip,

There's no single location of documentation, but there's community-created content here: Raspberry Pi Projects (there are beginners articles and projects there) and beginners journal-like articles at http://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi

The installation of boinc is discussed here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/share-boinc/

Regarding clusters, unless software is specifically designed to run like this, the software needs to be run individually on each machine, there's no sharing of resources normally. You can log into one device and remotely access the others, using a few different techniques depending on needs.

If you wish to view a full graphical desktop, then tools like rdesktop can be used. See the Remote Desktop section here to see how to do that: Accessing and Controlling the Pi