7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2019 3:19 PM by zagene

TP5100 LiPo charging module failing

zagene

Hi, I purchased 10 of the TP5100 modules trough Banggood and already six of them failed miserably. (With all of them the TP5100 IC failed)

The problem seems to be with some external components and I studied the circuit and the badly translated document so I redid the document as well as I could.

The main problem seems to be with the Schottky, the SS34’s reverse leakage current maybe just to high for the IC (or maybe sub-standard).

Im planning to replace it with MBRS540T3G with an reverse leakage of 300uA (any suggestions of a Schottky with a DO-214AB package size) as a replacement for the four that survived. I'm also going to replace the remaining three 10uF caps for just in case and also the 100nF cap. I’m going to use a low ESR 10uF cap from TDK with a 10% tolerance (C3216X7R1E106K160AB). All the components footprint is the same as the current. I’m also thinking about replacing the two 100 mOhm resistor with a 1% tolerance 50 mOhm 1W resistor (MCS1632R050FER) (Rs) that is specifically for current sense purposes just to be on the safe side (The modules takes way to long to reach me to risk the remaining four and with sensitive devices like the LiPo batteries make it high risk)

The NTC that is on the diagram is not avaiable on the module and seems to be tied to ground with RTRIC for a 10% trickle charge current. The on board LED also have some pads for an external two color LED (common anode) next to the input. The PWR_ON is left floating as in the diagram. To enable 8.4V (two cell charging) the SET pads may be linked to establish a link between CS and the reference voltage at VREG.

I have improved the translated document on the TP5100 and made some notes in PDF format If you are interested.

Could you please give comments about the suggested changes. I just hate to loose the last four modules as this seems to be and good charging module

TP5100 Module