8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2019 5:57 AM by e14softwareuk

Question about Ground Planes in Circuit Stuido

alienjack

Hello, I am new to Circuit Studio. I have a few technical questions about the program that I can't seem to find answers for on line. The first one is... how do I connect a pad, either through hole or SM, to a ground plane?

• Re: Question about Ground Planes in Circuit Stuido
          tarribred61

Hi,

That is a pretty general and basic question. Have you searched for an gone through some of the tutorials?  Circuitstudio has some and also some for Altium Designer might help you.

Maybe start at this link below or find some others....

From Idea to Manufacture - Driving a PCB Design through CircuitStudio | Online Documentation for Altium Products

Other sites and even other PCB design software may describe the basics

When you are in the PCB design (as opposed to schematic design) you would use a via to connect an outer layer pad to a ground plane on an inner layer.  If you instead mean a ground flood on an outer layer then you would place a net to connect these.

alienjack

Hi Thomas. Thank you for your help. As I stated in my question, I am new to Circuit Studio, so I really appreciate you taking the time out to help me. I will research the site you gave me. How would I construct a net in the PCB design mode? What I need to do is to pour a GND plane on my bottom layer and open up all the pads that need to see ground to it so that they connect. I'm just not sure how to establish a net for a GND plane.

e14softwareuk

Hi Jack.

In addition to Thomas's suggestion I would also recommend watching the tutorial videos that are on this site if you are new to CircuitStudio and want to get up to speed quickly.

Getting Started with CircuitStudio: Video Tutorial Series