9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2019 7:16 AM by alienjack

How do I make a cut line score to a circuit board in Circuit Studio?

alienjack

Hello, I am new to Circuit Studio. I have a few technical questions about the program that I can't seem to find answers for on line. How do I make a cut line score to a circuit board in Circuit Studio? Some of my circuit board layouts call for the circuit board to be separated into 2 or 3 sections. Do to this I need to add a score line to the board. Can someone please tell me how I can go about doing that? Also, what layer is the actual circuit board located?

• Re: How do I make a cut line score to a circuit board in Circuit Studio?
          tarribred61

Hi,

I believe you would choose a mechanical layer you want to use for PCB outline then place lines, arcs, etc to define the PCB shape. In my PCBs the outline is mechanical layer 1. When making your PCB footprints, I recommend keeping consistent with the default layer assignments.   The outline primitives should be thin lines, maybe only 1 or 2 mils thick so it is unambiguous where the board shape is.  If you make it thicker, the rule is it would be the center of the thickness and not the outer or inner edge of the thick line, so it is better to keep the outline thin.  If you want to place a keepout to keep features away from the board edge then do it with a thick line on the keepout layer, it would typically mirror the PCB outline.

Here is a screen shot of a section of the PCB outline.  Layer 1 has been renamed to be Outline but it is still mechanical layer 1.