16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2020 2:29 AM by clem57

RPi 3 B+ with Sense Hat getting "Error: cannot open framebuffer device." from snake.c example

osenjw

I am new to RPi.

I placed the sense hat on an RPi 3B+ and get a nice rainbow display on the LED.

When I run the snake example, I get the message "Error: cannot open framebuffer device."

I run in debug using Code::Blocks, and I see that the code apparently finds the joystick.  So the frame buffer is not the first thing I checked.

My RPi is nearly virgin.  I have installed Code::Blocks and the sense hat.  Raspian is up to date.  I enabled VNC, SSN, SPI and I2C.

I am working headless via a VNC window in W10.

Is there an incompatibility between a RPi 3B+ and the sense hat?  I am seeing that it is compatible with RPi 3B  (no +).

If not, would somebody offer a suggestion for getting snake to get past this error?

Thanks.

• Re: RPi 3 B+ with Sense Hat getting "Error: cannot open framebuffer device." from snake.c example
          osenjw

I just tried a python script and found the following:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "space_invader.py", line 4, in <module>

sense = SenseHat()

File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/sense_hat/sense_hat.py", line 39, in __init__

raise OSError('Cannot detect %s device' % self.SENSE_HAT_FB_NAME)

OSError: Cannot detect RPi-Sense FB device

This is rather cryptic, but I am guessing that the frame buffer was not found.

• Re: RPi 3 B+ with Sense Hat getting "Error: cannot open framebuffer device." from snake.c example
            mp2100

Can you try to use the Sense Hat with a computer monitor attached to the RPi, that is, don’t run it headless?  I would have thought that VNC would provide a framebuffer, but it’s perhaps it doesn’t.

There should not be any incompatibility with the RPi 3B+ Model, the Sense Hat is only using the 40 pin header, and that did not change between models.  Raspbian is quite stable between versions.

1 of 1 people found this helpful