8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2020 4:59 PM by jeromehess

Power, no boot

brumbaugh

Hi,

Im new to the Raspberry Pi arena, but have built PC's and done quite a bit with PC's.

I have a Pi4, which I bought the 7" touchscreen display for it.

I installed everything. I have power, but no boot. I cannot even get any thing out of the monitor.

Any ideas.

- touch screen is connected via ribbon cable.

- both the Pi and the display have power and the power supply is rated to handle both.

- red LED is lit...

- SD card is in and has a copy of NOOBS on it.

Display is dead...

Any ideas? Display or OS?

Thanks,

Kyle

• Re: Power, no boot
          dougw

The only things I can think of are to make sure the ribbon cables are seated properly with their clamping bars also seated properly, and to make sure there is adequate voltage and current available to run the Pi and the display...

My setup which is only a Pi 3 and 7" display complains about the power if I don't use a high capacity power supply with an 18 gage cable.

Also some people have trouble with their SD cards, some cards (even new cards and cards that work on other computers) don't seem to work.

It is strange how few web sites have updated their material to indicate that the 7" display is compatible with the Pi 4.

Here is one site that goes through it...

https://www.softprayog.in/tutorials/connecting-7-touchscreen-display-to-raspberry-pi-4b

fmilburn

Hi Kyle,

Does the Pi boot OK and display when hooked up to a standard HDMI monitor?

2 of 2 people found this helpful
              sjmill01

I have a smaller touchscreen that required its own Kernal files.  This is because the display needed what is called a different Device Tree for Linux - which is fancy for saying the pins had to be configured to drive the display.