4 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2020 7:03 PM by kkazem

How can I automate circuit on/off based on a voltage threshold in another circuit?

scot_v

Hi,

I'm new to circuit design and I'm trying to figure out an easy way to automatically switch circuits on and off.  Ideally, I would like for the switch to happen when a certain voltage is reached across a battery that is recharging.  When the threshold voltage is reached I want to turn off a circuit and turn on another circuit.

There are actually three circuits involved so when circuit 1 is switched on, circuit 2 and 3 should be switched off. 

The ON and Off of the circuits will rotate like this:

circuit # 1 on switches 2 and 3 off 

circuit # 2 on switches 1 and 3 off,

circuit # 3 on switches 1 and 2 off

then repeat back to circuit # 1 on switches 2 and 3 off, etc., etc.

FYI, Each circuit will be running off its own 12V battery

I was trying to avoid using Arduino as that seems like it may take a while to learn.  I thought Mosfets as switches might work but not sure how to configure them.

Hope this makes sense. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Scot

• Re: How can I automate circuit on/off based on a voltage threshold in another circuit?
          michaelkellett

I hope you aren't trying to make batteries charge each other

You don't tell us enough.

Do the three batteries have a common 0V connection or are they fully isolated.

What is the current.

Do you need make before break or break before make switching.

What kind of batteries, are there any safety issues.

Best bet is explain what you are trying to do overall and fill in the details. A block diagram would help.

My first thought is that an Arduino or similar would be the ideal control element - because you'll find that you need hystereisis, timeouts and other features. You will still need power switches, relays are much easier to manage than MOSFETs.