19 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2020 8:05 PM by colporteur

Dumb Question

mark1054

I am a total newb, so this is probably a really dumb question. I have a DC Harmar scooter lift that I need to be able to run from household current. I need to modify it to make a lift to get my wife off the floor when she falls. I have all the plans to do it, I just don't know what I need to convert the DC to AC. Currently, the lift connects to DC via a standard "trailer" plug. So I need to connect it to a converter that will them plug into a wall socket. I spoke to a guy at Harmar and he seemed to think it was doable as long as the device put out a minimum load of 15amp. Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks!

• Re: Dumb Question
          Fred27

What is most important is the DC voltage and current the lift requires. Then it's really a case of finding a suitable power supply. Have you got any more details of the model of lift you're working with?

3 of 3 people found this helpful
            colporteur

Welcome to the E14 Community Mark. I don't consider your question dumb by any measure. You have a technical problem and you are asking a community that supports technical people a question in their wheelhouse.

I have a two solutions. My focus is not aesthetics. The solution is easy to create and safe. It is using technology that already exists today.

I would consider an RV battery and a battery charger. The RV battery can be charged using the charger from an AC source without generating toxic fumes. The battery will meet the current and voltage requirements within a range of uses. If the kids are using the device for a amusement ride it won't hold up.

Good RV batteries can provide well over 30amp/hrs. Your current demand is not for hours but for short periods of time. The battery and charger in a plastic tub from a department store, keeps the cost down if the solution has budget constraints.