8 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2020 11:01 AM by fmilburn

Arduino soundpad suggestions for assignment

fbirch

Hello everyone,

I'm hoping to use an arduino and some basic code in a group assignment and have zero experience with arduinos and very little coding knowledge.

I'd like to create an 8x8 grid of buttons that contain RGB lightning, and are attached to a speaker of some description to play a tone. The intention is to create a soundpad-esque (like a launchpad) tactile device that enables me to play a tone or series of tones when one of the buttons in the 8x8 grid are pressed. I'd also like to be able to have a colour displayed on the RGB lighting attached to the associated button.

I shall be using python to play a data value as a MIDI tone or series of tones, along with using a different data value to select a colour.

I am looking for hardware advice, as I have very little experience with Ardunio or circuitry in general. I will have access to a vast array of tools and five weeks to become competent enough to create such a project, along with a team of 5-8 people to assist. We are all in a similar boat with experience, however are eager to learn. I have already looked into multiple tutorials and other resources but it appears the options are near endless, so any assistance with recommendations or advice on this build specifically would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time!

• Re: Arduino soundpad suggestions for assignment
          shabaz

Hi Finn,