10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2020 9:58 AM by ibagadget

Complete noob needs help with Pi3 components for Pipboy

ibagadget

Slightly overwhelmed here with all the info on this board.

Quick synopsis - Been a huge Fallout fan for many years, and just recently had a friend give me the 3D printed Fallout Pipboy 3000 and the Pi3 board w/screen that goes in it. I have no idea what I'm doing. I watched the Element 14 video on the 2000 Mk II build, and I like some of the accessories that he put into his build. I would like to do something similar, with the GPS location tracking, menu switching, environmental readout and music playing (possibly from an attached USB drive?)

I have never even held a Pi3 before this, let alone put one together and programmed it. Any assistance in what components I need to get, as well as where to find coding resources would be greatly appreciated.

Owen

• Re: Complete noob needs help with Pi3 components for Pipboy
          Christopher Stanton

ibagadget get it working and running first, then fit it together and see how much room you have left to add anything extra.

Your Pi with SDCard can host the music, you don't particularly need a USB storage for that, but you can add it.

Additional sensors can be connected directly to your GPIO pins when it comes to it, including GPS. It depends what software you're running

Plug it up and set it up first, then see where you go from there?

Let us know.

2 of 2 people found this helpful
              ibagadget

Thank you Christopher.

I do have a bit of an update that I hope doesn't affect things too much - I was mistaken in which unit I had. It's actually a Pi2 board. The guy I got it from put it in a Pi3 box just for something to hold it, and I hadn't looked too closely at the board. I hope it still has the functionality and processing capability for what I'd like to do. If it doesn't, then I guess I'll just go with the currently available program made for this unit.