9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2020 9:09 PM by btetz14

minized doesn't detect usb 2019.1

miamedra1

Hi there,

I'm new to petalinux.  I'm using petalinux 2019.1 and am following the Avnet Petalinux Lab2.  I'm stuck on step 10 of AvnetTTC_Minized_Petalinux_lab2_2019p1_v1.pdf- where it asks me to mount /dev/sda*.  I'm finding that there are no sda* in /dev/ and fdisk -l just returns info on /dev/mmcblk1p1. 

I've made sure to plug both usb ports into the laptop to address the power issue.   I've checked that the thumb drive is FAT32.  Also, I'm using the prebuilt boot.bin and zynq_fsbl.elf files provided by Avnet.  Does anyone have any advice? 

Thanks!

• Re: minized doesn't detect usb 2019.1
          drozwood90

Hi there,

I'm not sure what you mean by plug both ports into the laptop for the power issue.

Can you try to explain that different?

As far as I know, you should have 1 type A connector with the thumb drive, and then 1 micro with a micro to A cable plugged into a power source.  Typically we suggest to developers to use a wall adapter, but in some cases for a low power draw device, you can use a laptop (such as described in the TTC).

The power should be on J6, the connector labeled AUX POWER farthest from the large TYPE A connector and closest to the push button.  The other microUSB connector is NOT to be used in this case and might be causing your issues as that is the OTG connector.

--Dan

miamedra1

Hi Dan,

Thanks for the response.  Can you explain what you mean by - "the other microUSB is not to be used in this case?"  My setup is as follows:  Connected a micro usb connector between J6 and a wall adapter.  J2 is connected to the laptop for my serial data- the bash terminal to the minized OS.  On J1, I've connected my FAT32 formatted usb stick.

With this setup I get the same result.  I do an fdisk -l   - which returns only /dev/mmcblk1p1.  And ls /dev/| grep sda returns nothing.  So it seems like the minized doesn't even detect the usb stick.