2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2021 7:44 AM by Navadeep Ganesh U

Old OScope - Worth 100$?

Navadeep Ganesh U

I have an option to get this scope for 100$! Worth it? I am a newbie and help me make a decision.

My Usage: Student and Hobby Projects, Basic T&M.

APLAB 5 IN 1 TESTLAB 3744

Features:

• Comprises of Several Instruments in One Package Dual Trace Oscilloscope, Component Tester/Comparator, Triple Output DC Power Source, Frequency Counter and Function Generator.
      • Oscilloscope with dc to 30MHz Bandwidth and 1 mv/div Sensitivity on Both Channels.
      • 140mm Rectangular CRT and 8 x 10 cm.
      • Display with Internal Graticule. 40ns/div to 0.2s/div Time Base.
      • Z Modulation (TTL Level). X-Y Operation.
      • TV Triggering Frame (V) & Line (H). LINE Trigger.
      • Component Tester / Comparator for Quick Evaluation of Component Characteristics.
      • Triple Output DC Source for External Use.
      • 100MHz Frequency Counter Measures Frequency of Function Generator or Waveform Displayed on Oscilloscope, Also from external Input or source.
      • Function Generator Operates in the Range of 0.02Hz to 2MHz with 50 ohms Output Impedance and Attenuation upto 60dB.

Product datasheet is attached hereby.

• Re: Old OScope - Worth 100$?
          shabaz

Hi Navadeep,

I think you'd have fun with it, I used my first CRT-based 'scope a lot too.

However, I cannot see from the document, but I think it is not a storage 'scope. This will make it hard to use for many experiments with (say) digital technology or microcontrollers. My first CRT scope was a storage one, and I used that capability a lot. So personally I would not get this APLAB 'scope.