24 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2021 7:32 PM by colporteur

Insight why display fails with buffer board

colporteur

Can someone share their insight  into why no images are displayed on the LCD display when a buffer/level shifter board is inserted between the Pi and the display?

The project is to display images on a 1.3 inch display using a Raspberry Pi. Inspiration for the project came from Episode 465: Lego Raspberry Pi HQ Camera . I'm using the LCD screen Katie's  hifromkatie used in the project.

I can display images on the display https://github.com/pimoroni/st7789-python  connected directly to the Pi. Images are not displayed if I insert a buffer board between the Pi and the display. I have tried modules with TXS0108E and BSS138 chips and get the same results.

Attached is the pin out for connections. I confess I have limited experience with this communication protocol. I was hoping the buffer would provide some isolation for the Pi to enable me to move the display away from the Pi. I assumed a level shifter would not introduce issues but that does not appear to be the case.

Can you share any insight into what is causing the issue and possible solution.

Message was edited by: sean conway I added pictorials of the buffer/level shifting modules. The module on the left is is based on the TXS0108E chip and the right is a BSS138 fet based on an adafruit model https://www.adafruit.com/product/757

• Re: Insight why display fails with buffer board
          jc2048

It might help us if you gave a bit more detail of the thing you're having the problem with. A red oval isn't very illuminating.

Having said that, the reason might be that you aren't using a 'buffer board', you're using a level-translation board.