8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2021 9:13 AM by jmarkwolf

CircuitStudio: SDRAM Routing impossible? €10000 Upgrade? KiCad?

fxtentacle

Hi there,

I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction. I started learning about PCB design roughly 4 weeks ago and I've since designed a small power supply and a camera sensor breakout board. I purchased CircuitStudio and so far I was happy with it.

Now I am trying to connect a $5 STM32H723 with a $2 IS42 SDRAM chip. All the Altium articles are pretty insistent that I'll need length matching to make sure that the different data lines have the same delay between the SDRAM and the CPU, e.g.

https://resources.altium.com/p/how-do-pcb-trace-length-matching-vs-frequency

https://www.altium.com/solution/ddr3-routing-guidelines-and-routing-topologies

But from what I understand, length matching is not supported in CircuitStudio. I did find the Accordion workflow, but that requires me to route one wire after each other by hand and to keep track of all line lengths myself, so it's not really practical. Still, I kind of expected that CircuitStudio would include what I need and since we're talking about connecting two low-cost components on a PCB that I can still solder at home, I feel like this has to be possible with CircuitStudio somehow. But I really couldn't figure out how.

Anyway, so I asked Altium for an upgrade quote and they said going from CircuitStudio to a permanent Altium license will be roughly €10k. For a beginner and hobbyist like me, that is of course way out of my price range. Also, that seems insane. The cable from a $5 CPU to a $2 RAM chip will cost me $10000+ ???

I read that the ICEZUM Alhambra board designer

https://github.com/FPGAwars/icezum/wiki

ran into a similar issue in 2017 and they used a tool called altium2kicad

https://github.com/thesourcerer8/altium2kicad