12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2021 10:34 PM by sferenci

Where do I start!

philanirsa

Hi,

I'm an engineering undergraduate, majoring in Mechanical engineering. I have really fallen in love with programming and electronics.

I'm love building things, although I haven't made anything. I'd like to know where can I start. I feel like there's a huge cap in knowledge of electronics. Honestly BJTs, op amps and transistors kind of went over my head in sophomore year.

Please help me out, any suggestions on starting material would help me out.

Regards,

Thobisa Philani Ndlovu

• Re: Where do I start!
          jw0752

Check out Jeremy Blum's Exploring Arduino. It is a well presented series of building experiments that use the Arduino to demonstrate some of the basic capabilities of the board. This may give you some ideas for expanded builds.

https://www.exploringarduino.com/

6 of 6 people found this helpful
            neilk

Jeremy Blum's Arduino Tutorials got me started.

Neil

2 of 2 people found this helpful
              philanirsa

Thank you so much for your responses, much appreciated. I will check him out.

Regards

genebren

There is a wealth of knowledge and learning material her on this site.  Read into the details of projects or check out the learning center Learning Center  which has many ways to learn more about electronics.  Within the learning center is an area with introduction to electronics videos The Learning Circuit  produced by makerkaren . These videos are a good source of simple explanations of how electronics work.

Look around.  Ask questions. Find things that spark an interest and then repeat the steps and learn as you go.

There are a lot of knowledgeable and friendly members here that can help you get started.  By finding areas of interest, it will help you narrow down your questions, which in turn will make it easier for other members to help you.

Good luck on your journey!

5 of 5 people found this helpful